BND School 2019

Spa (Belgium)

Spa (Belgium)

Domaine Sol Cress Spaloumont, 5 - 4900 SPA | Belgique Tél : +32 87 77.23.53 | Fax : +32 87 77.48.93 |
Andrea Giammanco (UCL) , Andrea Giammanco (UCL) , Giacomo Bruno (Université de Louvain) , Vincent Lemaitre (UCL)

Belgian Dutch German graduate school in particle physics

The school is intended primarily for experimental high energy physicists preparing a PhD in particle physics, in particular during their first two years. The lectures cover both theoretical and experimental aspects of the field. The BND graduate school 2019 will take place between 2nd (14:00) and 13th (13:00) September 2019, in Spa. Students are expected to stay the full period of the school. The fee will be 1100 Euro, and covers all expenses: meals, lectures, excursions, and boarding.

Scientific programme

Quantum Field Theory Ronald Kleiss (RU)
Electroweak Theory Céline Degrande (UCLouvain)
QFT/EWK Tutorial Ronald Kleiss / Céline Degrande
Experimental tests of Electroweak Physics Andrea Knue (Freiburg)
DELPHES / Student Project Michele Selvaggi (CERN)
Flavour Physics Experiments Danny van Dyk (TU Munich)
Tracking, vertexing, flavour-tagging Pascal Vanlaer (ULB)
Neutrino Experiments Daan van Eijk (Nikhef)
Cosmology Marco Drewes (UCLouvain)
Gravitational Waves Tanja Hinderer (UVA)
Long-Lived Particle Searches Steven Lowette (VUB)
Special lecture: The SPECULOOS project: hunting for habitable exoplanets around the nearest very-low-mass stars Michael Gillon

Local Organizing Committee

Andrea Giammanco (UCLouvain) - chair

Giacomo Bruno (UCLouvain)

Vincent Lemaître (UCLouvain)

Carine Baras (UCLouvain) - secretariat

International Programme Committee

Achim Stahl (RWTH Aachen)

Auke Pieter Colijn (UVA)

Dirk Ryckbosch (UGent)

Dominic Hirschbuehl (Wuppertal)

Evelyne Daubie (UMons)

Frank Ellinghaus (Wuppertal)

Freya Blekman (VUB)

Guenther Fluegge (RWTH Aachen)

Ian Brock (Bonn)

Jo van de Brand (VU/NIKHEF)

Klaus Moenig (DESY)

Michael Kobel (TU Dresden)

Nicolo de Groot (RU)

Nick van Remortel (Antwerpen)

Pascal Vanlaer (ULB)

Paul de Jong (UVA/NIKHEF)

Raimond Snellings (UU)

Steven Lowette (VUB)

Thorsten Kuhl (DESY)

More information

Organizing institutes: Belgium, Netherlands, Germany

More information about previous BND Schools

We gratefully acknowledge support from:

Centre for Cosmology, Particle Physics and Phenomenology (CP3) at UCLouvain

FNRS and FWO through the Excellence of Science project be.h - The Higgs boson gateway to physics beyond the Standard Model

FNRS through the Doctoral School in Physics and Astrophysics (PandA)

  • Abanti Ranadhir Sahasransu
  • Aleksandra Snoch
  • Alessio Pizzini
  • Andrea Helen Knue
  • Angela Taliercio
  • Anne-Sophie Berthold
  • Artem Basalaev
  • Ashley McDougall
  • Bouke Jung
  • Brian Moser
  • Brían Ó Fearraigh
  • Carine Baras
  • Christian Nass
  • Céline Degrande
  • Daan van Eijk
  • Danny van Dyk
  • Dimitrios Sidiropoulos Kontos
  • Evelin Bakos
  • Fang-Ying Tsai
  • Federica Pasquali
  • Federico Guillermo Diaz Capriles
  • Feng Gao
  • Florian Bury
  • Gianny Mestdach
  • Hesham El Faham
  • Hilbrand Kuindersma
  • Igor Kostiuk
  • Joran Angevaare
  • Jordan Seneca
  • Jordy Butter
  • Julien Touchèque
  • Khawla JAFFEL
  • Laurent Pétré
  • Lex Greeven
  • Liam Wezenbeek
  • Lissa Keersmaekers
  • Luka Lambrecht
  • Luuk Vermunt
  • Marco Drewes
  • Marianna Liberatore
  • Matthieu Robin
  • Mees van Kampen
  • Mike Sas
  • Mohsen Rezaei Estabragh
  • Mostafa Mahdavikhorrami
  • Nils Gillwald
  • O. Ogul Oncel
  • Pascal Vanlaer
  • Peter Gaemers
  • Pierre-Alexandre Petitjean
  • Polina Moskvitina
  • R.S. Muller
  • Rahul Balasubramanian
  • Rob Walet
  • Ronald Kleiss
  • Samip Basnet
  • Senne Van Putte
  • Silvia Ferreres Solé
  • Sophie Wuyckens
  • Steven Lowette
  • Supriya Sinha
  • Surabhi Sharma
  • Tanja Hinderer
  • Thilo Birkenfeld
  • Tomas Kello
  • Torben Lange
  • Tu Thong Tran
  • Vichayanun Wachirapusitanand
  • Vincent Lemaître
Contact the organizers